Skip to main content

2020-2021 meeting dates:

9/17/20, 10/15/20, 11/19/20, 2/18/21, 3/18/21, 4/15/21, 5/20/21 dates:

1:10 pm, ACA 1601 (Senate Room)



Academic Senate

Academic Senate


The Academic Senate of Los Angeles Valley College focuses primarily on the "academic and professional matters" of the college. "Academic and professional matters" means the following policy development and implementation matters:

  1. Curriculum, including establishing prerequisites and placing courses within disciplines
  2. Degree and certificate requirements
  3. Grading policies
  4. Educational program development
  5. Standards or policies regarding student preparation and success
  6. District and college governance structures as related to faculty roles
  7. Faculty roles and involvement in accreditation processes, including self study and annual reports
  8. Policies for faculty professional development activities
  9. Processes for program review
  10. Processes for institutional planning and budget development
  11. Other academic and professional matters as mutually agreed upon by the governing board and the Academic Senate

The Academic Senate operates under the provisions of the LAVC Senate Constitution and By-Laws [Word doc: 47KB].

Click here for the Senate Motion Form [Word doc: 48KB].
Click here for Senate Motions approved by the president {ZIP: 318KB].

Senate Meetings

The Senate meets the third Thursday of the month at 1:10 pm in the Academic Senate Room, ACA1601.
Senate Meeting Agendas and Documents
Past Meeting Minutes

Senate Membership 


Term 2019-2021

Chauncey Maddren

Kevin Sanford
Executive Vice-President

Chad Sustin & Edgar Perez
co-Curriculum Vice-Presidents

Wesley Oliphant

Nikoo Berenji


Term 2017-2020

Fay S. Dea

Monica Hang

Zack Knorr
Xiaoyang Liu

Wesley Oliphant

Lynn Polasek

Michael C. Rahni
Kevin Sanford


Term 2018-2021

Victorino Fusilero

Clive Gordon

Chauncey Maddren

Ron Mossler

Tyler Prante

Kathryn Queen

Carol Sabol


Term 2019-2022

Christian Nova

Holly Batty

George Caleodis

Darby Southgate

Ruby Christian-Brougham

Rick Murray

Eugenia Sumnik-Levins

Adjunct Senator

Term 2019-2022

Hasmik Arakelyan

Probationary Senators 




Senator Representatives

  • Counseling/Library: Ann Gee
  • Math: June Miyasaki
  • English/Continuing Education: LaVergne Rosow
  • Physical Education: Monica Hang
  • Chemistry and Physics/Biology/Earth Science: Lynn Polasek
  • Anthropology/HHLPS/Philosophy and Economics/Sociology and Ethnic Studies: Tyler Prante
  • Art/Music/Media Arts/Theater: Eugenia Sumnik-Levins
  • CAOT/Business Administration/ Child Dev./Technology/Emergency Services: Kevin Sanford
  • Foreign Language/Communication Studies: Victorino Fusilero
  • Psychology/Health Sciences: 
  • Chairs and Directors: Josh Miller

Faculty Dues

Please support the Senate by paying your faculty dues.

Among other things, your faculty dues help to pay for scholarships and events like the holiday party, the ice cream social, and the summer committee retreat.

Dues are $40 for full time instructors and $25 for adjunct instructors.

There are several ways to pay your dues:

  1. We have opened an account in the Foundation Office where you can submit your check directly. It should be made out to: LAVC Foundation. Please write in the memo line "LAVC Faculty Senate", and your check will be properly credited to our account.
  2. You may also pay your dues online:
    1. Go to the LAVC Foundation website and click "Give Online Now"
    2. Scroll down to "Other Designation" and enter your donation amount
    3. Under "Additional Instruction", type "Academic Senate Fund"
    4. Click "Calculate Total", followed by the "Donate" button.
    5. Follow additional instructions and requests for personal and credit card informationf) Print out your online receipt
  3. You may also place your check in the faculty ballot box in the mailroom, and we will take it to the Foundation Office for you.
    *The Senate mailbox is in the section of the mailroom that is open late. Walk in and look to your left and you will see the box. The box is locked, so your check will be secure.
  4.  You may also pay your dues through payroll deduction. Please stop by the Foundation office for more information.

Paying to the Foundation is 100% tax-deductible write-off!

Senate Committees

Faculty Hiring


Committee Member SharePoint Site Access

How to use SharePoint (docx)