Skip to main content
LAVC

Orientation and First Year Planning

NEW STUDENT ORIENTATION

All new students are required to complete NEW STUDENT ORIENTATION.  To complete the NEW STUDENT ORIENTATION, sign in to your Student Portal, select Student Status tile, click on Student Success Page, then click on New Student Orientation (available in English, Spanish, Armenian and Russian).

Orientation topics Include:

  • Introduction to campus policies & procedures
  • Campus Resources and Special Programs
  • Educational Programs Information
  • Academic Expectations
  • And much more

FIRST YEAR STUDENT EDUCATIONAL PLANNING (SEP):

All new students are required to develop a first year educational plan  with the help of a counselor to assist you select the right courses.  To complete a first year educational plan sign in to your Student Portal, select Student Status tile, click on Student Success Page, then click on FIRST YEAR EDUCATIONAL PLANNING.

OR attend one of the live webinars presented by a counselor (see the calendar below).  No RSVP is required, just click on the Zoom link below five minutes before the start time of the webinar you would like to attend.  

Day Date Time Counselor Zoom Registration Link 
Monday 6/28/2021 10:00am-12:00pm Fanelli Registration 
Tuesday 6/29/2021 4:30pm-6:30pm Cruzalegui Registration 
Monday 7/12/2021 10:00am-12:00pm Du Registration
Tuesday 7/20/2021 10:00am-12:00pm Marquez Registration
Wednesday 7/21/2021 4:30pm-6:30pm Petrini Registration
Monday 7/26/2021 10:00am-12:00pm Fanelli Registration
Thursday 7/29/2021 4:30pm-6:30pm Cruzalegui Registration
Monday 8/2/2021 10:00am-12:00pm Du Registration
Tuesday 8/3/2021 4:30pm-6:30pm Reed Registration
Tuesday 8/10/2021 10:00am-12:00pm Marquez Registration
Wednesday 8/11/2021 4:30pm-6:30pm Petrini Registration

First Year Planning topics include:

  • Introduction to Student Portal
  • Understanding English and math placements
  • Identifying educational goal/major
  • How to read the Schedule of Classes
  • How to register for classes
  • Creating your first year Student Educational Plan

Forms you need to complete your first year Student Educational Plan: