Accreditation News

Los Angeles Valley College, December 2020

INTRODUCTION

Welcome to the first issue of the LAVC Accreditation Newsletter!

As we begin the journey of writing our Institutional Self-Evaluation Report (ISER), we want to establish an inclusive process and share our progress with the entire campus. The accreditation teams – guided by our Accreditation Liaison Officer (ALO) and the faculty co-chair – will be researching, gathering evidence, and writing the ISER over the next year. In consultation with participatory governance groups, the administration, the accreditation steering committee, and the LACCD, we will prepare and submit this report to reaffirm our accreditation.

WHAT IS ACCREDITATION and WHERE DO WE STAND?

Accreditation is an important "stamp of approval" that provides students, faculty, staff, and the public with assurances of the College's integrity, quality, and effectiveness. This process is a voluntary, non-governmental method of review that helps an institution comprehensively evaluate its practices at least once every six years. The standards, or requirements, for accreditation are set by the Accreditation Commission for Community and Junior Colleges (ACCJC). The ACCJC standards include evaluation of the mission, goals, and objectives of the College; the usefulness, integrity, and effectiveness of College processes; and the extent to which the College is fulfilling its intended student achievement and student learning outcomes.

In addition, our accredited status allows us to receive federal funding for our students and enables credit for courses to be used for transfer to other institutions. At present, LAVC has a fully affirmed status, so we are starting this process in good standing with the goal of reaffirming our accreditation.

BEGINNING THE PROCESS

Our current ISER process began with a meeting of the Accreditation Steering Committee on August 20, 2020, where a preliminary discussion on recruitment and timeline took place. The Accreditation Liaison Officer (ALO) and faculty co-chair then sent a recruitment memo via email to the entire campus. In conjunction with the Academic Senate President and AFT 1521A Chapter Chair, tri-chairs were identified for each standard group. A <u>training</u> for all tri-chairs was conducted by the ACCJC on October 22. Further recruitment continued for team members, culminating in a campus-wide <u>kickoff event</u> via Zoom on November 6, 2020. The ISER teams listed below are now beginning evidence collection and report writing will commence in 2021. As the standard teams gather data and evidence, additional mega-meetings are planned for each semester to ensure dialogue and communication across all standards. Our projected timeline can be found <u>here</u>, along with documents from the above trainings.

IT'S NOT TOO LATE TO JOIN!

Much of the work will be taking place next year and we would be delighted to have more volunteers. Please contact the LAVC ALO, Karen Daar, or the accreditation faculty co-chair, Yih-Mei Hu. For future updates and further information, please visit our website: https://www.lavc.edu/Accreditation/index.aspx

ISER TEAMS

Standard IA: Sherri Rodriguez*, Kevin Sanford**, Brandon Lo[‡], Agyeman Boateng, Shirin Herrington

Standard IB: Liz Negrete*, Christina Peter**, Laura Weaver[‡], Michelle Lin, George Caleodis

Standard IC: Dave Green*, Tyler Prante**, Israel Ortiz[‡], Cathy Jin, Meredith Leonard

Standard IIA: Jermain Pipkins*, Edgar Perez**, Matthew Walsh[‡], Holly Batty, Lilit Davoyan, Raffi Kahwajian

Standard IIB: Deborah DiCesare*, Scott Weigand**, Lilit Petrosyan[‡], Cynthia Cohen, Meredith Stoops, Cheyenne Hohman

Standard IIC: Sorangel Hernandez^{*}, Clive Gordon^{**}, Francie Hurwit[‡], Barbara Goldberg, Joel Trudgeon, Kathryn Queen, Gabriela Caballero, Ashley Du, Gabriel Hernandez, Veronica Garcia-Vargas, Monica Flores

Standard IIIA: Matthew Jordan*, Victorino Fusilero**, Lizbeth Martinez[‡], Roberto Gutierrez, Tasos Sioukas

Standard IIIB: Douglas Marriott*, Christian Nova**, Mark Svastics[‡], Michael Atkin

Standard IIIC: Laurie Nalepa*, Wilson Chu**, Jonathon Hooker[‡], Joshua Miller, Henry Louie, Gregory Morrison

Standard IIID: Sarah Song*, Howard Levine**, Tom Aduwo[‡], Vernon Bridges

Standard IVA/B: Llanet Martin*, Chauncey Maddren**, Cynthia Maddren[‡], Komfort Akyempon-Archer

* Administrative Chair ** Faculty Chair ‡ Staff Chair