Accreditation News → March 2021

LAVC Accreditation Updates

Welcome to another issue of the LAVC Accreditation Newsletter! As we continue the journey of writing our Institutional Self-Evaluation Report (ISER), we want to ensure an inclusive process and share our progress with the entire campus. In consultation with participatory governance groups, the administration, the accreditation steering committee, and the LACCD, we are currently preparing to submit the ISER to reaffirm our accreditation.

The accreditation teams, listed on the second page, are meeting regularly and well underway with evidence collection. The Accreditation Liaison Officer (ALO) and Faculty Accreditation Chair (FAC) have been attending meetings as resource members to assist with questions. This work will continue throughout the spring 2021 semester, and culminate in a mega-meeting of all teams in May. The mega-meeting will be an opportunity to share information on proactive recommendations for improvement as well as any gaps, challenges, or issues that may cross-pollinate to other standards before drafts of each standard are submitted in June.

The discussions at the mega-meeting will also be critical in developing our Quality Focus Essay (QFE). The purpose of the QFE is to identify two or three action projects for areas of the College requiring improvement, in an effort to enhance student outcomes and success over a multi-year period. Resources for the teams and the most recent training materials have been posted on the <u>LAVC accreditation website</u>.

Standard of the Month

In this edition of the newsletter, we're highlighting Standard I.A.1, which states: *The mission describes the institution's broad educational purposes, its intended student population, the types of degrees and other credentials it offers, and its commitment to student learning and student achievement.*

The College mission (which includes our core values) is important because it impacts all constituencies and is a driving force behind our goals and plans. How does LAVC meet this standard with its newly revised mission from 2020? If you have input and ideas on this standard, we'd be delighted to hear from you!

Updates from the ACCJC

In November 2020, ACCJC announced its <u>video-based educational series</u> with accreditation-related topics designed to support the other resources, policies, and guides ACCJC has available on its website. The new addition of the "Peer Reviewer Series" explains the roles and responsibilities of peer reviewers, as well as how to prepare for a site visit and what to expect during a site visit. Click on the link above to explore some of the videos.

In addition, the ACCJC has started examining and revising the language of all standards and posted a <u>timeline</u> of this process. The newly revised standards will apply to college reports and visits starting in Fall 2023. Although this doesn't impact our current ISER, the new standards will be relevant in the case of any recommendations or future reports.

It's Not Too Late to Join!

If you're interested in contributing to the ISER, there's still time to join a team! Please contact the LAVC ALO, Karen Daar, or FAC, Yih-Mei Hu. For future updates and further information, please visit our <u>accreditation website</u>.

ISER TEAMS

Standard IA: Sherri Rodriguez*, Kevin Sanford**, Brandon Lo[‡], Agyeman Boateng, Shirin Herrington

Standard IB: Liz Negrete*, Christina Peter**, Laura Weaver[‡], Michelle Lin, George Caleodis

Standard IC: Dave Green*, Tyler Prante**, Israel Ortiz[‡], Cathy Jin, Meredith Leonard

Standard IIA: Jermain Pipkins*, Edgar Perez**, Matthew Walsh[‡], Holly Batty, Lilit Davoyan, Raffi Kahwajian

Standard IIB: Deborah DiCesare*, Scott Weigand**, Lilit Petrosyan[‡], Cynthia Cohen, Meredith Stoops, Cheyenne Hohman

Standard IIC: Sorangel Hernandez*, Clive Gordon**, Francie Hurwit[‡], Barbara Goldberg, Joel Trudgeon, Kathryn Queen, Gabriela Caballero, Ashley Du, Gabriel Hernandez, Veronica Garcia-Vargas, Monica Flores, Emily Gutierrez

Standard IIIA: Matthew Jordan*, Victorino Fusilero**, Lizbeth Martinez⁺, Roberto Gutierrez, Tasos Sioukas

Standard IIIB: Douglas Marriott*, Christian Nova**, Mark Svastics[‡], Michael Atkin, Will Karrat

Standard IIIC: Laurie Nalepa*, Wilson Chu**, Jonathon Hooker[‡], Joshua Miller, Henry Louie, Gregory Morrison

Standard IIID: Sarah Song*, Howard Levine**, Tom Aduwo[‡], Vernon Bridges

Standard IVA/B: Llanet Martin*, Chauncey Maddren**, Cynthia Maddren[‡], Komfort Akvempon-Archer, Edward Gika

> * Administrative Chair ** Faculty Chair ‡ Staff Chair