Skip to main content
LAVC News & Announcements

News Blog

Congratulations to the 2019 Above & Beyond and Apple Award Recipients

Los Angeles Valley College recognized years of service and outstanding employee contributions at the annual Employee Appreciation Extravaganza on May 1. The 2019 Above & Beyond Awards were presented to Dr. Elliott Coney, Jamie Holladay-Collins, Julie Mendoza-Vasquez, Rick Murray, Kimberly Robeson, and Dr. Luz Shin. In addition, Tau Alpha Epsilon presented its 2019 TAE Apple Awards to Tracey Baca, John Kawai, Chris Petrini, Laura Scott, and Shawn Smith. Congratulations!

Congratulations to the 2019 Above & Beyond and Apple Award Recipients

Los Angeles Valley College announced the recipients of the 2019 Above & Beyond Awards and the 2018 Apple Awards, and recognized employee's years of service, new employees, and newly tenured faculty at the annual Employee Appreciation Extravaganza on May 8 in Monarch Hall. 

LAVC presented employee service recongition pins to classified staff, and adjunct and full-time faculty for their 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35, 40 and 45 years of service in the Los Angeles Community College District. In addition, the college recognized its 34 new employees. Read the 2019 Annual Service Recognition and New Employees list (PDF).

The Above and Beyond Awards is a peer-nominated employee award for outstanding work in one of five categories. This year, 20 number of faculty and staff were nominated for an Above and Beyond Award. Read the 2019 Above and Beyond Award nominee (PDF).

The 2019 Above and Beyond Awards were awarded to:

  • Creativity & Innovation for Student SuccessRick Murray

  • Community Involvement & Monarch Pride - Julie Mendoza-Vasquez

  • Fulfilling the College's Mission towards Student Success - Dr. Luz Shin

  • Just Do It! - Kimberly Robeson

  • Outstanding Service to Students - Dr. Elliott Coney

  • Outstanding Services to the College Community - Jamie Holladay-Collins

The Tau Alpha Epsilon (TAE) honors club at LAVC also presented its annual Apple Awards for faculty at the event. The Apple Awards are a student-run awards process coordinated by TAE that allows students to show their appreciation of LAVC faculty. The awards are given in five categories. 

The 2019 TAE Apple Awards were given to the following faculty members:

  • Best All-Around Educator - Shawn Smith

  • Best Communicator - Tracey Baca

  • Best Online Instructor - Laura Scott

  • Most Inspiring Instructor - John Kawai

  • Most Supportive Counselor/Instructor - Chris Petrini

The Employee Appreciation Extravaganza is cosponsored by the LAVC President's Office, Academic Senate, Faculty Guild 1521, Staff Guild 1521A, LAVC Foundation, Teamsters/Local 911, and SEIU 721.


Posted by: LAVC PR Office on 5/1/2019 5:00:05 PM