Skip to main content
LAVC News & Announcements

News Blog

Congrats to the 2018 LAVC Above & Beyond and Apple Award Recipients!

LAVC congratulates Chad Baugher, Cynthia Cohen, John Kawai, Doug Marriott, and Scott Weigand for receiving a 2018 Above & Beyond Award. LAVC's Tau Alpha Epsilon honor society also awarded its 2018 Apple Awards to Steve Barakat, Jack Condon, Christina Peters, Joyce Romero, and Duane Smith. 

Congrats to the 2018 LAVC Above & Beyond and Apple Award Recipients!

Los Angeles Valley College announced the recipients of the 2018 Above & Beyond Awards and the 2018 Apple Awards, and recognized employee's years of service, new employees, and newly tenured faculty at the annual Employee Appreciation Extravaganza on May 8 in Monarch Hall. 

The Above and Beyond Awards is a peer-nominated employee award for outstanding work in one of five categories. View a list of the 2018 Above and Beyond Award Nominees.

The 2018 Above and Beyond Awards were awarded to:

  • Creativity & Innovation - John Kawai

  • Community Involvement & Monarch Pride - Doug Marriott

  • Fulfilling the College's Mission towards Student Success - Scott Weigand

  • Just Do It - Chad Baugher

  • Outstanding Service & Mentoring to Students - Cynthia Cohen

The Tau Alpha Epsilon (TAE) honors club at LAVC presented its 2018 Apple Awards at the event. The Apple Awards are a student-run awards process coordinated by TAE to allow students to show their appreciation of LAVC faculty that gives awards in five categories.

The TAE Apple Awards were given to the following faculty members:

  • Best All-Around - Christina Peters

  • Best Communicator - Steve Barakat

  • Best Online Instructor - Duane Smith

  • Most Inspiring Instructor - Jack Condon

  • Most Supportive Educator - Joyce Romero

In addition, LAVC presented employee service recognition pins to classified staff, adjunct faculty and full-time faculty for their 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, and 40 years of service in the Los Angeles Community College District. View a list of the 2018 Service Recognition Recipients.

The Employee Appreciation Extravaganza is cosponsored by the LAVC President's Office, Academic Senate, Faculty Guild 1521, Staff Guild 1521A, LAVC Foundation, Teamsters/Local 911, and SEIU 721. 


Posted by: LAVC PR Office on 5/9/2018 5:00:10 PM